Review: Chris Shiflett’s ‘West Coast Town’

Oh great, we have another rock artist who wants to make a country album. This ought to be good right? So let me get this straight, we’re supposed to believe that Chris Shiflett, the lead drummer for the Foo Fighters (awesome band by the way) actually cares about country music enough to show respect to the genre and actually venture into this project with inspiration leading him rather than $omething el$e?

Well actually, that’s kind of exactly what we’re supposed to do. Look, Chris Shiflett isn’t going to feed you any bullshit about how he grew up with country and all of a sudden realized his true calling. Truth be told he didn’t get into country all THAT long ago until a friend supposedly told him to buy a Buck Owens as well as a Merle Haggard box set. However, he liked what he heard and wanted to make his own country albums right away, events that led to his first two solo albums, 2010’s self-titled album as well as 2013’s covers album All Hat and No Cattle. Yeah that’s right, Chris hopped on the country train before it was cool. Moreover he has no intention of “going country”. For him, making country music is simply something he wanted to pursue on the side, and hey, when he’s shown this much respect I can’t fault him for that.

You also know that Chris means business when he recruits Dave Cobb to produce his latest album, West Coast Town as well as recruit studio musicians such as Robby Turner, Chris Powell (Jamey Johnson), bassist Adam Garner, and keyboardist Michael Webb to play as well. The result equates to a fine project.

The biggest asset of West Coast Town is undoubtedly the instrumentation. It’s odd to describe that for a country album, although in reality it’s more a country rock album (not that that’s a bad thing, it’s a good thing actually). Really though, the guitars have a ton of punch and flavor to them, and when combined with other instruments such as the keys on “The Girl’s Already Gone”, they can make some insanely memorable moments. The song I just mentioned has a very jaunty rhythm to it, and other songs such as “Goodnight Little Rock” and “Cherry” both have a real kick to them in terms of the grooves. Then of course there’s the insanely catchy title track as well as the real punk, dark vibe of “I’m Still Drunk” which really pulls off the landing well. It’s admittedly a little hard saying much other than this, but the big takeaway is that the instrumentation, especially the guitars really pave the rest of the way for this record in terms of the atmospheres, the melodies and stories. It’s weird to say that about an album this year but it makes a standout feature all the same.

Now, I will admit the biggest hindrance from me calling this a great album is Chris Shiflett himself. To be fair, he is exerting a lot of himself onto this record in terms of his vocal personality, but considering he’s not honestly all that good of a singer, it can make for some rough moments. The chorus of “Blow Out The Candles” really shows the strain as does “Tonight’s Not Over”.

Moreover, for as consistently good as this album is, you do find yourself waiting for that one moment to blow you away. Lastly, I will say that the lyricism on this record can feel a little paint by numbers at times. I still really enjoy the title track for that insanely catchy guitar riff, but I also did find the chorus a little too non-descriptive, and “Room 102” is a little too on the nose for me to say it’s a classic country tear in your beer tearjerker.

On the flip side, there are some great lyrical moments here. “Sticks and Stones” does a great job depicting a love falling apart and showing how there’s blame for both sides, and “I’m Still Drunk” is a really good look at this narrator’s downward spiral after his life goes to hell. “Goodnight Little Rock” is also an extremely fun, albeit tongue in cheek look at life on the road that manages to spice it up enough in all areas to stick the landing. It might be my favorite on the album.

And as a whole this is the type of project that doesn’t need a lot of words, mostly because it speaks for itself as to how enjoyable it is. As for the grade, I’m leaning towards a solid 7/10. As someone who enjoys both country and rock, I find myself enjoying it a lot, and while it’s not going to change your world or anything like that, it also proves that some rock artists actually do care about the music they make, so thanks for that Mr. Shiflett.

Favorite Songs: “Goodnight Little Rock”, “I’m Still Drunk”, “Sticks and Stones”


Buy the album here!


4 thoughts on “Review: Chris Shiflett’s ‘West Coast Town’

  1. I sort of ignored this one. I may give it a listen but your review confirmed what I figured. Not great vocally and more on th e rock side. It honestly doesn’t bother me though when artists from other genres come and make country music as long as the music is actually country and lyrically good. For example I thought Steven Tyler’s try at country was an embarrassment and I have no interest in Justin Timberlakes “country” music. But I do like Darius Rucker although I wish he recorded better songs.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, it is more on the rock side, but I think the thing to remember with Chris Shiflett is that he’ll be the first to tell you it’s not a strict country album. He wanted to make a country-rock album and he did a great job with it if I say so myself. This is miles better than Steven Tyler’s atrocity lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Probably the strong partiality to and desire for good voices that inherently comes with blindness lol, but I cannot get past his here. When you said that he is not really all that good of a singer, I was relieved it wasn’t just me. I like the country rock thing going on though, and you’re right, the instrumentation is really nice. It’s one of those albums that, like Alex, I sort of ignored after listening to a few songs and not getting into his voice. I’ll try to find some highlights off it because I do appreciate his sincerity in his approach to making country music.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s always tough grading albums when it comes to problems with the vocals, because after all, your voice is your voice. I tried to focus more on the other elements since I felt those were more important, but yeah, there’s no way to write an honest review without mentioning that he’s honestly not a good singer. Oh well. On to Sam Outlaw and Aaron Vance for me! I also have been meaning to comment on the Pistol Annies piece. Hopefully I can today or tomorrow!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

