Song Review: Thomas Rhett (feat. Maren Morris) – “Craving You” 

I can’t tell you how long I’ve been waiting for new music from Thomas Rhett. It seems like ages. Ever since he came onto the scene, Thomas has quickly proven that he cares about country music. “Beer With Jesus” was more outlaw than anything silly ol’ Johnny Paycheck ever did, and other songs like “Vacation”, and especially “Get Me Some Of That” proved his strong lyrical penmanship.
His new song, “Craving You” is an extension of that style, blending together a twin fiddle driven melody with lyrics that harken back to times in country music when the music was good and pure. What he’s “craving” is days when you could hear the moan of a pedal steel and lyrics that made you feel something. There’s some other lines about Garth Brooks ruining everything and some other guy named Akins something, but that’s not important.

What is important is that Thomas is sticking up for his native genre, haters be damned. Not that the haters could have much to hate with Thomas’ golden country voice that makes George Jones sound like Tucker Beathard. 

He even brought Maren Morris along for the ride, and boy is she prevalent on this song. She’s everywhere. You can hear her better here than you could hear Vince Gill on “Sober Saturday Night”, and that’s saying something, damn it.

There’s probably some things I could criticize about this song, but who cares right? Why we gotta be so negative? Let the good times roll I say. This song is amaze-balls. If you don’t think so you’re a doo doo face who has shit taste in music. Drop the mic.

Written by Tom T. Hall

(12/10)


9 thoughts on “Song Review: Thomas Rhett (feat. Maren Morris) – “Craving You” 

  1. I’ve been reading for quite a while, but this is my first time commenting.

    This is absolutely fantastic, laugh-out-loud hilarious! “Thomas’s golden country voice makes George Jones sound like Tucker Beathard” and “you’re a doo doo face who has shit taste in music” had me in stitches.

    But in all seriousness, this song sucks. But honestly, I don’t think anything anyone could do will ever top the gawd-awful suckitude of Rhett’s South Side (aka the worst song of all time) or Vacation (aka the worst single ever released to country radio, chalk it up to a most unfortunate double whammy for Thomas Rhett). I would recommend skipping this and going to listen to Midland’s EP instead.

    Grade: 2/10

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Amanda! Appreciate the comment.

      No, this sadly enough isn’t even one of Thomas’ worst in my book, and it’s still bad. Good for you Thomas, you improved and you still suck! It’s catchy enough for Pop I guess, but it’s definitely in the wrong format.

      Like

      1. I would count myself in the minority of people who really likes Beer With Jesus (it’s not great, but it is a good song, with a good idea, and it’s fairly country. It’s a 7/10 to my ears.) and thinks Crash and Burn is a great song…for pop radio (aside from ripping off Sam Cooke and Bruno Mars). The Day You Stop Looking Back isn’t horrible. However, majority of his catalog is plagiarized songs and absolute garbage that I wouldn’t be caught dead listening to. Thomas Rhett can record some okay stuff. But he can also unleash some of the shittiest shit that ever was. Quite frankly, I’m embarrassed for him.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. South Side and Vacation are both absolute bottom of the barrel. Truly gosh-awful songs. But I will never forget the monstrosity that was Front Porch Junkies from his debut album. That song is fucking torture to listen to. I would rather climb up to the roof of my house, stand up on the rooftop, and shout from it every dirty and/or inappropriate thought I have ever had about Jon Pardi, Mark Wystrach (from Midland), or Jess Carson (also from Midland), which would be the pinnacle of embarrassment and torture for me. Or worse yet, I’d rather be subjected to the worst of Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt for the rest of my life than ever hear Front Porch Junkies again. If you can sit through the entire song, you deserve a prize.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha, I agree. There are few artists out there right now pissing me off more so than Thomas Rhett. He seems like a nice guy and all, but his music is brutal.

        Like

      4. South Side and Vacation are both absolute bottom of the barrel. Truly gosh-awful songs. But I will never forget the monstrosity that was Front Porch Junkies from his debut album. That song is fucking torture to listen to. I would rather climb up to the roof of my house, stand up on the rooftop, and shout from it every dirty and/or inappropriate thought I have ever had about Jon Pardi, Mark Wystrach (from Midland), or Jess Carson (also from Midland), which would be the pinnacle of embarrassment and torture for me. Or worse yet, I’d rather be subjected to the worst of Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt for the rest of my life than ever hear Front Porch Junkies again. If you can sit through the entire song, you deserve a prize. I truly feel sorry for the people who have to review his albums. But the reviews are always hilarious.

        Like

Leave a Reply

