Goodbye, Country Perspective

sad-goodbye-quotes

Well this sucks.

No, no, no….that’s not how I want to start this. It’s too important to leave at that.

For those who don’t know, Josh Schott of Country Perspective recently announced that he was in fact done with his blog. He announced that the blog would be going on hiatus on March 13th, but at the time, again, hiatus – not permanent. Well, unfortunately it became permanent today on Twitter when he announced his reasons for leaving.

I won’t rehash the entire tweet, but if you want to see it, it’s right here. I’m not entirely sure what to say in all honesty, but I know I can’t leave today knowing I didn’t at least say thanks to Josh (and Derek Hudgin as well) for all of their hard work making the blog into something great.

Country Perspective was among the first blogs I had ever discovered. I remember Josh commented somewhere, and I remember clicking on the link in his name just to see where it led. I don’t know why, but I did, and I’m damn glad I did. This was 2014, and like many I was a disgruntled country music fan looking to see if there was something more out there besides what I heard on country radio or if anyone else thought the same way (remember, this was the peak of the bro-country craze). I also believe Country Perspective was only a couple months old at the time, but time didn’t stop it from growing into a wonderful platform.

Sure enough what I found was a place for me. Even from his earliest stages, Josh was always a great writer, even if that’s not why I loved the blog to begin with. It sounds bad, but I always had liked that Josh was saying what was on my mind, and while my philosophy has shifted to one where I hear everyone’s thoughts (just as Josh had….does), his writing eclipsed the mere bashing and name calling that can often ensue from country blogs. Throughout the rest of that year Josh offered his thoughts not only on the shitty music emanating out of the mainstream, but also his thoughts on the industry as well (and always backed up those points with excellent analysis). Derek Hudgin did as well, which is why together, the two really did foster a friendly environment that was an excellent platform for sharing musical opinions. I was happy to contribute to the blog last year, but that’s another story that’s complicated to explain clearly.

My favorite part about Country Perspective probably has to be the Hodgepodge. Sure, it’s one thing to report on the industry news, but it’s another to do it like they did. Once a week either Josh or Derek would pick a topic (whether it be an actual event or perhaps something philosophical) and write at length about it. That would be then be backed up by some upcoming releases as well as funny tweets, non-country selections, and other fun elements. It’s what it was – a diverse selection of stuff that always made for an interesting read.

I also liked discovering new music as well. Country Perspective was one of my go-to’s for discovering new music from artists I hadn’t heard of before. I’m going to miss that, but I’m also grateful for the music I wouldn’t have discovered otherwise without them.

I didn’t agree with every single piece, but I respected Josh’s insight and most importantly, passion for music. He could be headstrong at times, but you need that type of passion to do this type of thing. I often find myself searching back through the archives at least once a week to relive the memories and remember why I still do this. I’m going to miss the passion, I’m going to miss the lively comment sections, and I’m going to miss the intelligent insight. Most importantly I’m also going to miss a blog that I considered a friend (well, the writers if you want to get all technical about it).

Running a blog isn’t easy, and that’s coming from someone who doesn’t even pay for his damn blog. I do know what it’s like to lose passion though. I can only hope that you, Josh (if you read this) find it again. That’s a selfish want on my part, because most importantly, I want you to be happy, man. If stepping away is the solution, I get it. I hope you know you will be missed, and whatever you do, at least keep in touch.

Thanks for everything, Country Perspective. You helped morph me into the music fan I am today, and I know for damn sure there’s a better person typing this right now than there was three years ago. I guess that’s it. I still feel like there’s so much left to say, but I can’t find the words right now. Instead, for the billionth time I’ll just say…

Thank you.


3 thoughts on “Goodbye, Country Perspective

  1. I have to agree. I too enoyed reading Country Perspective. I live in New Zealand and as you can imagine not a lot of country musice is played on commerical radio here, nothwithstanding Sam Hunt, who I heard of a Top 40 radio station that they teenage children subject their mother to while in the car. I have to say blogs like Country Perspective and Saving Country Music have extended by listerning palate. Gone are the days of Luke Bryan and FGL and welcome to Aaron Watson and Cody Jinks, so for this I am truely thankful.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent piece, Leon.

    I can’t remember when or how I discovered Country Perspective, but I believe it was through Country California’s quote roundups somehow. I’m going to miss it greatly. It was a daily read of mine and I always enjoyed and learned from Josh and Derek’s writings.

    It’s always a sad day when an independent country blog shutters its doors. My first time experiencing that was when The 9513 shut down in May 2011, and I still remember the shock and devastation I felt that day. Unfortunately, in the intervening years we’ve only seen several other great blogs meet the same fate. It’s completely understandable why it happens, but there’s always a sense of loss because these blogs and writers often feel like old friends.

    Like

Leave a Reply

