Veteran Country Star Accepts End of Hitmaking Career Gracefully

79b904de2c69c0026a999e285f5b3b7e_hey-theres-a-dead-guy-in-the-mystery-man-clipart_228-262

NASHVILLE, TN – Upon being dropped from his label after all three singles from his most recent album failed to reach the top 20, a two-decade star in the country music business announced that he plans to accept the end of his time as a commercially prominent artist with grace and dignity.

“Really, there’s nothing to be sad about,” the artist said. “I had an amazing run at the top. I’ve been lucky enough to have had a more successful career than 99.9% of people in this business, and I couldn’t be more thankful. Sure, my time racking up hits may have come to an end, but that’s just how the game is played. We all only get so many years in the spotlight.”

When asked what his next move would be, the artist revealed that he was in negotiations to sign with a small but highly respected indie label known for releasing critically acclaimed music. The artist said he is looking forward to embracing the artistic freedom that comes with choosing the independent route and being free of the major label system.

“I hope to do some exciting and original things that will challenge me creatively and hopefully result in new music that my fans will love. I think my most fruitful years are ahead of me. I’m already planning that Western swing album I always wanted to do, as well as a John Hartford tribute album. Not nearly as many people will hear my music, and I won’t be nearly as famous or make nearly as much money as I did before, but that’s not what being an artist is really about, is it?”

“Sure, I could desperately try to remain relevant at radio by releasing a string of gimmicky, trend-chasing singles in which I abandon my trademark sound and act a third of my age, but what would be the point? At best, I’d just be delaying the inevitable, and all I would do is embarrass myself and tarnish my legacy.”

Gary Allan, Brad Paisley, Travis Tritt, Reba McEntire, Joe Nichols, Montgomery Gentry, Alabama, Ronnie Dunn, Trace Adkins, and scores of others had no comment.


3 thoughts on “Veteran Country Star Accepts End of Hitmaking Career Gracefully

    1. It’s not the most egregious example, but “Girls Gone Wild” almost certainly qualifies. I actually don’t mind it too much, but I don’t think it’s well-liked. I had actually forgotten it exists until I saw it in FTM’s Worst Country Song Ever tournament.

      Like

Leave a Reply

