Live Blogging Country Radio – #3

screenshot_2017-03-15-15-35-32-1.png

All credit (as always) goes to Country California for the idea.  Every week I (try to) listen to country radio at least a half an hour, sharing my thoughts as I move along.  Doing this from the WordPress app got to be too much of a pain in the ass in all honesty, so now I’m going to try to just do this once per week. There will never be a set day or anything, I’ll just try to do it sometime during the week when I have a half an hour to kill. That’s kind of all there is to say. As always, I am not telling you the station name.

  • 3:29 – I’m catching the middle of Chris Young’s “I’m Comin’ Over”
  • 3:31` – This isn’t too bad to start with I suppose.
  • 3:31 – Dude still has a killer voice
  • 3:31 – Friend stopped into my office. I’ll try to fend him off
  • 3:32 – My station wants me to listen to them every morning.
  • 3:32 – Short ad about girl scout cookies
  • 3:32 – “A Little More Summertime” now. Wow, what is this? Good songs from mediocre artists day?
  • 3:33 – Yeah, the production is a little too electronic in some places, but it’s the first time in forever Aldean has showed ANY emotion in a song since…..damn, one of his album cuts?
  • 3:34 – I’ve had Jason Aldean and I can say this isn’t a bad show so far. The world will end in 3….2…..1…..
  • 3:36 – “Yeah Boy” now….I have a knack for speaking too soon.
  • 3:36 – Alright, trying to think of something nice to say….uh…..
  • 3:36 – Ah! I got one. It doesn’t suck quite as much as her first two singles.
  • 3:37 – The banjo gives this “failure” status for me as opposed to “complete dumpster fire”. And no, it’s because I’m a purist, it’s just the only actual instrument I hear here.
  • 3:38 – It’s catchy, but so is…..nevermind, not family-friendly material
  • 3:39 – This is already better on the actual website as opposed to the app.
  • 3:39 – Kip Moore’s “Beer Money” now
  • 3:40 – Sure country radio, why take the time to play something from an older era and give some balance?
  • 3:40 – Everyone wants to hear a song from just a couple freakin’ years ago.
  • 3:40 – By a male, of course
  • 3:40 – And I’m a fan of Kip, his singles just usually aren’t strong
  • 3:41 – You have enough money to last all night Kip? You ever think of a little thing called tomorrow? Or the day after?
  • 3:42 – On country radio, the night is everything.
  • 3:42 – “House Party” – Oh goodie
  • 3:43 – I finally found an Old Dominion song I liked recently. I don’t think I’ll ever find that with Sam. I hope I’m wrong but…
  • 3:44 – His new stuff just gets more and more terrible
  • 3:44 – As for this? It’s a vapid, shallow party tune
  • 3:45 – If you want to be a homebody, we’re gonna have a house party – I’ll take stupid hooks for $2000 Alex.
  • “Always keep us on at work to hear new country music!” – That’s not why I’m doing this, country radio station
  • 3:46 – Wow, “Outskirts Of Heaven”! I’ll take it!
  • 3:47 – It’s a little broadly sketched during the chorus, but there’s something so relaxing about this song.
  • 3:47 – This is done isn’t it? It would make sense for my station to only start playing this right now.
  • 3:48 – Seriously, great job guys.
  • 3:48 – Maybe they did play it before, I don’t know.
  • 3:48 – Hell, I ended my 2 years of radio sobriety to do this feature, so what do I know?
  • 3:49 – Surprisingly enough, very little talk from the DJ’s
  • 3:50 – Mini Bruno Mars with “Make You Wanna” now.
  • 3:50 – Because again, why bother playing anything older than ten years, country radio?
  • 3:51 – “Because you know there’s only so much I can take” – Yeah, I know the feeling Thomas. All too well right now.
  • 3:52 – So I guess this will be a solid half an hour of songs today. Weird.
  • 3:52 – As a whole, not even really good ones.
  • 3:53 – Apparently there was a lockdown at a school because of a suspected threat
  • 3:54 – Crazy times, I tell you. Stay safe out there.
  • 3:54 – It was a hoax though, thankfully.
  • 3:55 – Ad for some Easter festival. Get your picture taken with the Bunny and stuff.
  • 3:55 – Or, as John Oliver called it, “Shitty Christmas”
  • 3:55 – Even as a man of faith, I still found it funny.
  • 3:56 – Ad for a law firm. Boy, you really know your audience, country radio.
  • 3:56 – “Bruh, I can’t talk to a lawyer….I didn’t go to law school, or even that other school!” Other bruh: “College?” Bruh 1: “Yeah!”
  • 3:57 – Ad for tractors now. No indication given on whether or not those tractors were sexy or not.
  • 3:58 – Sorry, Kenny Chesney wanted to know.
  • 3:58 – One more minute…what will we get?
  • 3:58 – The anticipation is killing me
  • 3:59 – “If you want to read the latest country music news, visit our website!” – Sure, I’ll visit a Taste of Country site for news. I’m just dying to know the latest thing Luke Bryan did for charity and how it probably involved his ass.
  • 4:00 – A minute over, so we’re done!

Alright, so since Country Perspective is on hiatus right now, I thought I’d do something called “The Pulse Of Mainstream Country Radio” and give a brief recap of the show (credit to Brandon Florkey on Twitter for the idea) along with grades and an overall “pulse” (like they did here).

What? I’m already copying one blog post idea….might as well go for another.

  1. Chris Young – “I’m Comin’ Over” (+2 or 7/10)
  2. Jason Aldean – “A Little More Summertime” (+2 or 7.5/10)
  3. Kelsea Ballerini – “Yeah Boy” (-2 or 3/10)
  4. Kip Moore – “Beer Money” (+1 or 6.5/10)
  5. Sam Hunt – “House Party” (-4 or 1/10)
  6. Craig Campbell – “Outskirts Of Heaven” (+3 or 8/10)
  7. Thomas Rhett – “Make You Wanna” (-2 or 3/10)

The Pulse Score: 0 (Some good, some bad, an overall, it was an average week)

Total Songs Currently Charting: 1 (Yeah Boy, which again leads us to the question, why not go beyond five years worth of material, country radio?!?)


One thought on “Live Blogging Country Radio – #3

Leave a Reply

