Live Blogging Country Radio – #2

screenshot_2017-03-15-15-35-32-1.png

All credit (as always) goes to Country California for the idea. Every Saturday night I (try to) listen to country radio at least a half an hour, sharing my thoughts as I move along. That’s kind of all there is to say. As always, I am noAn telling you the station name.

  • 9:58 – We’re starting off with Dan + Shay – “How Not To”.
  • 9:59 – You know, these guys really aren’t bad. Especially for pop-country. 
  • 9:59 – I’ve definitely given them a ton of deserved shit in the past, but they can craft a damn good melody…
  • 10:01 – Oh, “Cowboy Casanova” now. Honestly don’t care either way about this. 
  • 10:01 – Although, in other news my station is proud to be a Taste Of Country station. I wouldn’t be but hey…
  • 10:02 – Is this the last time Carrie Underwood used a fiddle? I believe it was.
  • 10:03 – Not picking on Carrie by the way, just sayin’
  • 10:04 – I’ll admit, some 2009 nostalgia is creeping in
  • 10:04 – Now, “Dirt On My Boots”
  • 10:04 – I’m the only person in the universe who hates this I think.
  • 10:05 – Seriously, if this was Aldean or Bryan, this would get SOOO much shit. He used a fiddle so…pass. 
  • 10:06 – I do like Pardi, this is just so beneath him. His last album as a whole was as well. 
  • 10:06 – Ok, I’ll admit I’m air guitaring the shit out of that solo.
  • 10:07 – Annnnddd I just realized how much of a loser I am right now.
  • 10:08 – Oh, more songs huh? “My Church” now.
  • 10:08 – Really don’t get the hype behind Maren. This is good, but her album was just….”ok”
  • 10:09 – And no, that’s not coming from the perspective of a diehard traditionalist. I just didn’t care for it.
  • 10:10 – Regardless, this is good, and I’d much sooner hear this than boy boy boy boy dibs again.
  • 10:11 – Oh, we have a request huh? Cool, what is it?
  • 10:11 – SAVE A HORSE RIDE A COWBOY?!? WHY?!?
  • 10:12 – I don’t mind B&R overall but this is so….stupid. No other way I can describe it.
  • 10:13 – Although between this and Cowboy Casanova, this is about as much fiddle as you can hear on the radio these days.
  • 10:14 – Oh we’re getting a “shot of new country” now? Great.
  • 10:14 – Oh, Dierks’ “Black”
  • 10:15 – See, I didn’t hate Dierks’ last album. Certainly his weakest, but not horrible. I actually like the atmospheric tone to this as well.
  • 10:16 – He doesn’t sound good vocally here though, and that’s why this doesn’t grab me as much.
  • 10:18 – Wait….if we can request stuff, why haven’t I called in to heae Turnpike Troubadours?
  • 10:18 – What’s that country radio DJ? Sam Hunt and Brett Eldredge are up next? Okay, okay…don’t panic. Only 9 more minutes…
  • 10:20 – Advertisement about some Mexican resturant. I think I heard Rich O’ Toole in the background.
  • 10:21 – And now an advertisement for Geico. Not as fun when I can’t see the Gecko.
  • 10:21 – Wendy’s advertisement…wonder if they’ll roast me on Twitter.
  • 10:23 – Sometimes the advertisements are more entertaining. Although this hasn’t been a horrible night.
  • 10:24 – More advertisements. Might end this way. What a way to go.
  • 10:25 – Oh, nevermind. Brett up now with “Beat Of The Music”. Not bad. The only song of his I truly enjoy is still “Raymond” though.
  • 10:26 – Although, considering this was released during the “bro” era, this was nice. Light, breezy, easy-going…certainly not overloaded with any obnoxious machismo. 
  • 10:27 – Ok, I admit this is kind of fun to hear right now. 
  • 10:28 – And we’re done for the night. Tune in next time!

3 thoughts on “Live Blogging Country Radio – #2

  1. Entertaining read as always, Leon.

    After listening to several of these songs on Youtube, I’d say you probably had a better time with this group of songs than I would have. But somehow I do secretly regard “Save a Horse (Ride a Cowboy”) as a guilty pleasure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

