Hey, We’re A Year Old!

Happy birthday balloon
Yeah, it’s incredibly cheesy but what else was I going to put?

(In case you were wondering why we moved this week’s fake news story a little early, here’s why)

That’s right, as of today, March 17th, 2017, Country Music Minds is officially one year old. If you ask me how we made it, I’d tell you I have no idea honestly, because our history has been shaky at best. As such, it’s a little hard giving you all an exact timeline of our history, and to readers who just recently found the blog….don’t ask. It’s better that way.

On March 17th, 2016, I posted my first review on “The Country Line” (we changed to Country Music Minds in June), and for a blog that advertised itself as a country music blog, it was strange that our first review was of Chris King’s Animal, an album that could hardly be called Americana. But it was fun, and while it wasn’t the first review I had ever written before, I knew that having my own blog and my own platform was something I needed to explore further. Having Andy join the team the next month was a huge benefit for the blog.

For the past 12 months we’ve been doing our best to just be ourselves here and provide another outlet where you can explore (what we think to be) great Country and Americana artists. It hasn’t been easy, as shit has hit the fan here more times than I care to think about (probably in the double digits by now). But like a boomerang we always come back, and while I’ll always probably be the type who can’t sit still and experiment with this blog some more, I’m learning to view that as an asset rather than a crutch.

That said however, if I’m being honest, I regret about 95% of the posts I’ve ever written. I’ve explained why in countless other posts, but to sound like a broken record (as I always do), the large issue just came down to conformity. No, not like me just trying to fit in in order to make the blog grow. I don’t care about that. I’m talking about letting the thoughts of others get to me. “I can’t like this…I have to like this…I can’t talk about this artist…what do the people want me to say…?” You get the idea. I didn’t structure EVERY post like this mind you, many posts were reflective of my personal thoughts. The were just tweaked a little at times. I’ve harped on this numerous times, but again, I kind of hate celebrating being around for one year since in my opinion, the real birth of this blog began in January.

I remember tweeting out one time right before I published my Jon Pardi Calfornia Sunrise review that I didn’t give a shit what anyone else thought of my opinion. In other words, you’re more than free to think the way you do, but understand I may not feel the same way, because I was one of the few to be outwardly critical of that album. It’s a moment where I broke away, and truly said what I thought. I wish I had held onto that.

I’ve always wondered why I kept losing passion for this thing, and I think I finally know the answer – I wasn’t being human. I was being a machine, analyzing music for right and wrong answers instead of just expressing my own views and the way the music made ME feel. I hate that. Of course, I’ve also harped on this before, so let’s move on.

Unarguably the biggest reason Country Music Minds is still kicking is because of all of you out there. For anyone who’s ever read, commented, followed or did whatever else with the blog, thank you. There’s a million bajillion country music blogs out there (although there are also a million that aren’t around anymore as well), and for you to devote even a small fraction of your time to even just read one of our posts….it means a lot.

I don’t know the road that lies ahead for Country Music Minds. The move to WordPress has really been exciting honestly. It’s a little more complicated than Weebly admittedly, but there’s also a lot more I’m able to do as well. As of the moment I’ve reverted back to reviews and also finally found a feature I’m interested in with the fake news segments. It still feels a little weird knowing we mostly did reviews last year. I mean, here’s my opinion….cool. I still want to keep a strong focus on exposing the acts that nobody (or at least hardly anybody) are talking about, and I do want to have a balance between the positive and negative reviews. I certainly never expect anything from anybody in terms of reading this blog, but hopefully you all stick around. Sometimes we’ll agree, sometimes we won’t. There’s nothing wrong with that. In addition to focusing on lesser acts as always, I also want to continuously stress that Country Music Minds is a place that truly welcomes all opinions, and is more than happy to have those opinions challenged in order to garner new insights and perspectives. I don’t want echo chambers here (unless of course you truly do agree with everything either Andy or I write).

Music is subjective people, and we connect to it for different reasons. Don’t squelch that. I mean, yeah, it’s just music, but I know that for me music is a huge part of my life. It picks me up when I’m down (and kicks my ass depending on what I’m going for), and it helps connect me to specific parts of my life. That’s something that goes beyond the grain, and I know I’m not the only one. It took a year to learn that, but it’s a motto I always want to keep at Country Music Minds.

Seriously, thank you everyone. I didn’t think we’d make it this far, but we did. Thanks.


8 thoughts on “Hey, We’re A Year Old!

  1. Congratulations. I only discovered your site a few days ago. So far, I like what I see. One suggestion – when you write a review of a song or mention specific songs in an album review, include the name(s) of the songwriters. My favorite country music blog, Country Universe, almost always does this. You can easily find the names of the songwriters using wikipedia. You can also search PRO sites like ASCAP, BMI and SESAC. I often look up lyrics. When i google, e.g. David Nail, Red Light, lyrics, I add songwriters. Some sites, like Metrolyrics, provide the names of the writers. Since my wife and I retired and moved to Nashville over 10 years ago, we’ve seen over 90 shows at the Bluebird Cafe. Hearing these writers tell their stories and sing their songs, we’ve really come to appreciate their efforts and like to see them get the credit they deserve.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the kind words Bob. Also, thank you for the suggestion. We don’t cover songs all that much, but still, it is something we should be practicing here at Country Music Minds. I agree, songwriters are underrepresented, so thanks for bringing that up. Also looking to improve every day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

