A Message From Andrew

note-paper-on-cork-boardHey everyone. Andrew here. As you may or may not have noticed, I haven’t posted anything since January. Unfortunately, there was a very good reason for that. It’s a long and complicated story and I’ll spare you all the details, but suffice it to say that my mother unexpectedly went through a serious health scare recently. However, on Monday we finally got word that it turned out to be nothing and that she is going to be fine! So needless to say, I’m in much better spirits and am ready to get back at it at CMM.

I’ve been thinking about what kind of content I want to be creating here. I decided I’m probably going to retire Exploring the Classics. Truthfully, writing about a classic album in an in-depth manner is extremely time-intensive, especially considering all the historical research it requires. Combined with the fact that it didn’t seem to be generating much interest (okay, any), it just didn’t work out the way I thought it would. And, hey, that’s okay. I’m still pretty new to this whole blogging thing, and I’m still trying to find a writing style that works for me.

I still (mostly) want to talk about older country music. This is not because I don’t listen to plenty of newer music, nor do I think that older music is inherently superior to newer music. I’m emphatically not one of those people who say things like “music was so much better back in the good ol’ days, [insert decade here] was the last time music was good, and everything since then has been terrible”. Those people are the worst. It just seems to me that there are so many bloggers out there that do a great job staying on the cutting edge and covering all the latest and greatest (Leon not least among them), but there are far fewer places talking about country music’s long and storied past. The ones that do exist do a great job but they’re definitely few and far between.

Moreover, if I may be so bold, it seems to me that many of the newer bloggers and commenters in the blogosphere are younger people or newer fans to the genre, and maybe don’t know as much about older country music as they would like. Well, when I was in their position several years ago, I learned about the great artists, songs and albums of the past mainly from blogs. So hey, I’d like to return the favor and do my part to pass it on down the best way I can. I don’t claim to be an expert in country’s history by any means – there are people who could run circles around me – but I do feel I have some knowledge to offer on this front. Anyway, I’ll be launching a new feature soon called Classic Cuts, and I’ll explain more about it then.

One last thing I’d like to say is that the most frustrating aspect of being a country fan in 2017 is probably the lack of places online where informed, quality discussion about country music can be found. Country is a niche genre to begin with, and if you’re interested beyond what’s currently being played on the radio, it’s incredibly difficult to find a good discussion with like-minded people. While there are plenty of active all-genre music communities online, country is almost always an afterthought at best. And sadly, the few independent country blogs that do exist seem to be closing up shop left and right due to time and economic pressures. If the few big guns remaining ever decided to cease operations, it would be absolutely devastating to country music’s online presence. That means I have to take action. I can’t just sit back and assume that other people will always be willing to write about country music online. I have to do what I can to ensure that the genre has a healthy and vibrant presence on the Internet, even if my contribution is relatively small and pales in comparison to other people’s.

In addition to Classic Cuts, I’m thrilled to see that Leon has introduced Fake News, and I will be contributing on that front as well. I also have some features in the works. So yeah, that’s pretty much all I have to say right now. CMM turns one tomorrow, and Leon has an editorial coming that talks about some of our goals and where we want to go. I’m looking forward to CMM’s second year being even better than its first!


2 thoughts on “A Message From Andrew

  1. Andrew, Sorry to hear about the scare with your other but glad everything is okay!

    Looking forward to reading your future posts and keeping the online forum for country music open!

    – Daniel

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

