Crossover Review – George Strait’s “All My Exes Live In Texas”

​Author: Leon Blair

Editor’s Note: Today we’ve got an outside post courtesy of Sheepie Niagara, founder of sheepieniagara.weebly.com. If you’re interested at all in Niagara Falls, you’ll want to check it out! Anyway, we decided to each do a crossover post for each other’s blogs, so while mine will be out later on, Sheepie’s is here right now. So without further ado…

Put a coin in the jukebox, we’re going to the 80s. 

​I’m a fan of 80s music. There was something mystical about the insanity of the era. Songs were fun back then.

Case and point: “All My Ex’s Live in Texas”.

Now, I’m not what you’d call a Country music person: I like it, but I don’t go out of my way to listen to it. I like my Country music the way I like wood paneling: in the background of a restaurant that can make a good breakfast.

“All My Ex’s Live in Texas” is one of those definitive Country songs with spirit. The song is literally George Strait singing about how he loves Texas, but due to all his various escapades involving the (not so) fairer sex, he’s been hiding out in Tennessee.

I’ve never been to Texas, but I have been to Tennessee. I had some fun down there (bought myself a cowboy hat and wandered aimlessly around Dollywood), but let’s face it: it’s not Texas.

What I love about this song is the slow pep it has. If this song was made today, it’d either be a ballad, or some over-paced junk. This song is fun, it knows it’s fun, and it’s taking its time being fun, dangit!

Some of the lines are also just perfect. I love the idea of Strait doing “Transcendental Meditation” just to get back to Texas. That is so 80s. I also like all of the girlfriend-place rhyming: it reminds me of an Irish drinking song (which, let’s be honest here: this is a drinking song!)

So go ahead, tap your foot, sip your beer, and hide away from your love life while you listen to some classic George Strait.

GRADE: A

If you like 80s music, I starting a new 80s song review every Wednesday on my blog. Just go to sheepieniagara.weebly.com and click on the “Mimosa Minute” section. They’ll be under music reviews.
-Sheepie


Leave a Reply

